Counting carbs

So, what could quite possibly be the worst thing this bread, pasta and sweets lover could hear? Gestational diabetes. Yes, my friends, I failed the dreaded 1 AND 3 hour glucose test resulting in a diagnosis of gestational diabetes. This means bottomless pasta bowls and 6 cookie snacks need to be a thing of the past.

Gestational diabetes can arise near the third trimester and typically disappears after child birth. Until then, I have to poke myself with a needle and check my bood sugar in the morning and then two hours after each meal. As if buying a home, taking care of a toddler, having a baby and working are not stressful enough, now I have to worry about my protein/ veggie to carb consumption. I am on week 2 and I just don’t get it yet. I generally eat pretty well, but that doesn’t seem to matter all the time. And then I can eat a delicious meal of something I think will put me over the limit ( like my biscuits and gravy yesterday) and my blood sugar is okay! Then, I’m mad I didn’t eat more.

Anyone who has any tips in terms of managing diabetes, gestational or other, any advice is greatly appreciated! Otherwise, its going to be a long 12 weeks.

~Jess

About eatsawonderfullife

Chicago.Education.Dessert.Chicago Sports (minus the Sox).Books. Yoga.Running.Vacationing.Countrymusic.

Leave a comment