RSS Feed

Hidden veggies for tots

I’ve been kind of stressing about Austin getting enough vegetables. He eats some, but definitely prefers the carbs. Hmmmm. Is that genetic? If it is, he totally got that from me. I picked up a couple of cookbooks at library this weekend:The Sneaky Chef and Weelicious. Well, I most definitely went out to buy a mini processor after reading through sneaky chef. I had already figured out the sneaky thing with other foods.
Austin really hasn’t cared for brown rice. Mix it with some mashed avocados though and he gobbles it down. Raspberries? Mix it with berry yogurt and we are good to go.

I spent an hour last night chopping, cooking, pureeing and packaging 1/4 cup portions of the veggies.

Green: 4 cups baby spinach, head of broccoli ( florets) and a couple of cups of frozen peas. I placed the spinach and broccoli florets in a microwave safe bowl, covered the veggies in watered and cooked them for 8 minutes. After 8 minutes, I added the frozen peas for an extra minute. After draining the veggies, I pureed them in a couple different batches (I have a mini 3.5 cup processor), adding a teaspoon of fresh lemon juice to each batch as well as 2 tablespoons of water. Add additional tablespoons of water to get the consistency you want.

Orange: 2 sweet potatoes and about 8 carrots. I boiled the veggies for about 20 minutes, drained them and then pureed them with some tablespoons of water.

Once all the veggies were pureed, I placed them in labeled freezer bags. I left some of the “orange” out, sprinkled some cinnamon on it and served it with some of the spinach ravioli Austin was having. He loved it.

So, although I plan on mixing some of the purees in future recipes, I am going to continue to offer veggies on their own so that he hopefully learns to like them. The “sneaky” ones are to ensure he gets some while he is getting to that point.

20130816-124455.jpg

~Jess

About eatsawonderfullife

Chicago.Education.Dessert.Chicago Sports (minus the Sox).Books. Yoga.Running.Vacationing.Countrymusic.

Leave a Reply

