RSS Feed

It’s what you crave

Oh man, what a day.  I felt so productive at work today.  Maybe it was the coffee I allowed myself this morning?  Despite my productive day, there were a couple of annoying parts.

1.  My shoe broke!  My Mary Janes have a button that holds a strap across the front, and found the button under my desk.  Good thing the shoes were still wearable, otherwise my day might not have been so productive.

2. About 2 p.m., I decided to plug my phone in because it was low on battery.  About 2:45, I thought to myself, “Maybe I should put it in my bag before I forget about it”.  I decided I wouldn’t forget about it.  Well, about 3/4 of the way home from work, I checked to see if I turned the ringer back on.  But how can I check, when it’s still in MY OFFICE?  Ughhhh, pregnancy brain.  Because I can’t live without it, I drove back to work to get it.  It’s only 10 miles and at 3:45, traffic is not that bad.  But still, it was annoying.  Also, I love I I blame “pregnancy brain”.  What was my excuse before?

But enough about that, my phone and I are home and everything is great.

Let’s talk about how I did with veggies this week.  For the most part, I have done a pretty good job of getting veggies in this week finally.  I also had a few salads, something I haven’t wanted since becoming pregnant.  Score!  I didn’t entirely stick to my meal plan, but we mixed them around and only ate out once when I had no desire to cook at all.  My big downfall this week was lastWednesday. Sometime around 2 p.m., I started having this intense craving.  I couldn’t stop thinking about it.  So, on my way home from work, I had to have it.

This is my embarrassing craving!  This is the second time it has happened and my husband is grossed out by it.  Before I became pregnant, I don’t remember the last time I wanted White Castle before midnight.  But, what can I say?  At least I don’t crave it every day.  And fries count as veggies right?  Don’t judge.

So, here is what my week in food actually looked like:

Monday-Vegetarian Chili with Sweet Potatoes

Tuesday- Chicken and Balsamic Peppers/Mashed Red Potatoes

Wednesday- White Castle- FAIL 😉

Thursday- Beef and Cabbage wraps

Friday- Whole Wheat Pasta, red pepper sauce, with red peppers,onions added – not originally on the menu but the snow kind of got in the way of things.

Saturday- Drew’s work party- Buffet-  I actually stocked up on a salad and a lot of veggies- my downfall was probably the dessert table.  It was fabulous!  Chocolate chip cookies, chocolate truffles, chocolate cake.  See a pattern?

Sunday- Walking Tacos

Monday- didn’t feel like cooking- Thai takeout- FAIL

Tuesday- Mac n cheese, asparagus, salad

Last night’s mac n cheese was fabulous!  I found the recipe on Pinterest (big surprise there). Here’s the actual link for Slow Baked Mac n Cheese.  I am a huge mac n cheese fan and a very tough critic.  And this was yummy. A few changes I made: I used a 6 cheese Italian Blend Cheese, 2% evaporated milk, 1% milk, and whole grain pasta.  And I definitely added the breadcrumbs.

I actually just had a little bit of leftovers to hold me over until dinner.  I’m excited to try another new recipe; hope it turns out as good as the other new dishes I tried this week!

About eatsawonderfullife

Chicago.Education.Dessert.Chicago Sports (minus the Sox).Books. Yoga.Running.Vacationing.Countrymusic.

Leave a Reply

