RSS Feed

Happy New Year

Happy New Year!  I have been taking a break and haven’t written in a long time.  A lot has been going on.  The first reason I have taken a hiatus is because my grandmother passed away.  If you remember, I visited her in October.  So, I actually visited her just a few weeks before she passed away.  I feel extremely fortunate to have been able to spend one last great week with her.  In fact, our trip almost never happened.  My mother, sister and I were all supposed to visit.  At the last minute, my mother wasn’t feeling well and didn’t want to take the chance to travel.  Since we already had time off, I told my sister I still wanted to go because we really don’t know how much longer we had with our grandmother and I didn’t want to miss the chance.

Until a couple years ago, I have been fortunate to not have had much loss in my life.  Then in the span of 2 years, I lost my grandfather, father-in-law, my husband’s grandfather and now my grandmother.  I have friends who have also dealt with difficult losses in that time frame, although I am sure difficult doesn’t even come close to describing it.  My grandmother, for me, has been my most difficult loss to date.  Until about 2nd grade, I lived a half a block (literally), from her.  I would stroll down to her house for an afternoon snack on a daily basis.  In 2nd grade, she moved to Mississippi, where my step grandfather still had family.  Even though I didn’t see her everyday, until high school I spent every summer visiting her.  Sometimes by myself, other times with my family.  Although my summers discontinued after grade school, I was still able to see her at least once a year.  Even though she had various health problems, she was generally healthy and independent until about a year ago.  And even though for pretty much my entire 8 year relationship with my husband she would get saddened at the thought of not making it to my wedding,  I could not have been happier that when that day arrived, she was there and having a great time.

So, I really didn’t feel like writing after all of that, so I decided to take a break.  Then, more news came and I extended it a little longer.  But more on that tomorrow.  Sorry to be a downer in the new year, but it feels great to write about it.

About eatsawonderfullife

Chicago.Education.Dessert.Chicago Sports (minus the Sox).Books. Yoga.Running.Vacationing.Countrymusic.

Leave a Reply

