RSS Feed

Off to Grandmother’s house we go

It’s been quite awhile since my last post.  I spent all of last week visiting my Grandma in Mississippi, where she lives practically in the middle of nowhere. I survived the 11 hours drive along withe my sister!  Although I did have some internet on my phone, it was not always cooperative.

Aside from my immediate family, I have always been very close to my Grandma.  The fact that she lived about 7 houses away until I was about 8 years old probably had something to do with that.  Then she moved all the way to Mississippi.  During my childhood, I spent almost every summer visiting her. And yes, it was always via either car, bus or train.  She lives pretty far from the nearest airport, so it just makes more sense to drive since we need a car there anyways.

My Grandma’s cognitive ability and her independence is decreasing more and more every day, so I decided to visit her since my work schedule is pretty flexible right now.  Although she hadn’t been eating much and was not feeling well for the couple of weeks prior to our visit, she seemed to perk up when we were there. She was happy to finally have some home cooked meals and she ate more than she probably has in months!  Mostly, I made comfort food that I knew she would enjoy. Here is what we ate throughout the week:

Monday:  meatloaf, mashed potatoes and corn

Tuesday:  Cheese Ravioli with red pepper alfredo sauce with Roasted Red Peppers

Wednesday:  Chicken enchiladas and “Chipotle” Cilantro Rice

Thursday:  Crouton Chicken, Rice and Peas

Here is the only picture that I remembered to take of the food:

This dish is extremely easy.  I’ll post the recipe later.  Here are some more pics from the week:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About eatsawonderfullife

Chicago.Education.Dessert.Chicago Sports (minus the Sox).Books. Yoga.Running.Vacationing.Countrymusic.

Leave a Reply

