RSS Feed

Making Progress

Happy Monday! In the last couple of days I have made a lot of progress with my goal of exercising and eating healthy.  Here is a list of some of my food choices over the last few days:

– 2 hard-boiled eggs, raspberries, french muffin- hey, I had to squeeze in some treats!

– open faced turkey and low fat mozzarella melt on whole wheat bun, grapes, carrots and low-fat ranch dressing

-roasted red pepper lasagna, salad

-egg, avocado and low fat cheddar on corn tortilla

-grilled cheese, avocado, tomato on whole wheat, tomato soup made with low-fat milk

I’d say I did a pretty good job compared to what I have been eating.  Here are some pics, although I have to get better at taking more.

~Recipes~

French Muffins

 The french muffins basically tasted like cinnamon sugar donuts, but in muffin form.  They were tasty.  Not exactly healthy, but I’ll always make room for treats.  I’ve only had three in the three days since I made them, so I think I am okay.

French Muffin (Found on Velvet Lave Cafe )

1/3 c. butter, melted
1/2 c. sugar
1 egg (preferably room temperature)
1 1/2 c. AP flour
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
1/2 c. milk

Topping
1/2 c. sugar
1/2 c. butter, melted
1 tsp. cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350F.

In a medium-large bowl, sift together all dry ingredients. Add wet ingredients and stir until combined, but still a bit lumpy. Don’t overmix. Scoop batter into muffin tins that have sprayed with cooking spray. Using a large ice cream scoop, I got 8 medium-large muffins out of this batter; I think you could get 10-12 muffins by distributing the batter a little less generously. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until they just start to turn a bit golden at the edges.

For the topping, mix sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl. Place melted butter in another small bowl. Dip the warm muffins in melted butter, then in cinnamon sugar.

Roasted  Red Pepper Lasagna  (Better Home and Garden)

I’ve made this many times, and I just love it.  It is super simple and delicious.  It’s not exactly healthy, but it is not unhealthy either.  I swap the full fat cheeses for low-fat options.  Here is the recipe from BHG.com, with my swaps.

Non stick cooking spray

2 cups red pasta sauce, such as portobello mushroom or garden vegetable,Prego Heart Smart Ricotta Parmesan Sauce

6 no boil lasagna noodles

1/2 15 oz container ricotta cheese  – I used low-fat

6 oz. goat cheese or shredded mozzarella cheese (1 1/2 cups)- I don’t like goat cheese all that much, especially in warm dishes, so I used low-fat mozzarella.

1 Tbsp Chianti or or other red wine (optional)

1/4 cup finely shredded  grated Parmesan cheese- I usually don’t have shredded Parmesan stocked in the fridge, so I just use the grated

1 cup roasted red peppers, drained well and cut in strips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly coat a 2-quart square baking dish with cooking spray. Spoon 1/3 cup of the sauce in the dish. Top with 2 lasagna noodles. In a small bowl stir together the ricotta cheese, 1 cup of the goat cheese, and, if desired, the Chianti. Spoon half the mixture over the noodles in the dish. Sprinkle with 2 tablespoons Parmesan. Top with half the red pepper strips. Spoon half the remaining sauce on the pepper layer.

Top with 2 more noodles, the remaining ricotta mixture, and remaining peppers. Add 2 more noodles and the remaining sauce. Dot top with remaining goat cheese and sprinkle with remaining Parmesan.

Cover with foil. Bake for 50 minutes. Let stand, covered, on a wire rack for 20 minutes before serving. Makes 4 to 6 servings.

Bon appetit!

~Exercise~

I was going to wait until today to start running again, but my husband wanted to run yesterday.  With me.  He never wants to run with me.  Well, he never wants to run period.  So, I jumped at the chance to run with my hubby for probably the second time ever.  We probably ran somewhere between 1 mile and 1 1/2 miles.  My Nike+ was acting up again, so I am not quite sure. Since this was close enough to 2 miles, I decided to start my 10K plan on Sunday rather than Monday.  This will also help with this Saturday when I am road tripping to Mississippi to visit my Grandma and will be in the car all day.  So, Saturday will be my rest day. Here’s my schedule for this week.  So far, so good.

Sunday:  2 miles easy running

Monday:  Alternate 1/2 mile run at race pace, with 4 min. walks (4X), 1 min. walks to warm up, cool down

Tuesday:  rest or cross train

Wednesday:  2 miles running on a hilly course

Thursday:  2-3 miles walking

Friday:  Long run at easy pace, 3-4 miles

Saturday:  Rest or cross train

Tomorrow I will be going to yoga for the first time in months.  We will see how that goes!

About eatsawonderfullife

Chicago.Education.Dessert.Chicago Sports (minus the Sox).Books. Yoga.Running.Vacationing.Countrymusic.

Leave a Reply

