RSS Feed

WIAW

What I ate weekly, (the last few weeks).

The nursery is almost done being painted and the furniture will arrive Friday!  Until I can post those pics, I thought I would share some tasty meals I have made and/or ate over the last few weeks.

Homemade Pizza

Homemade pizza

I got this recipe from my mom, although I am not quite sure where it originally came from.  I usually top it with green peppers, onions and ground beef.  I also make it on my pizza stone, which helps crisp the bottom.  The canned tomatoes are really good, although you have to be careful to drain them partly otherwise the pizza will turn out to be a soggy mess.

Mom’s Pizza Recipe

Dough ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup warm water
  • 1 pkg dry yeast (fleischmans brand usually comes in 3 pack)
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 Tsp salt
  • 2Tbsp oil
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
Pizza:
  • 1 29 oz can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 16 oz can tomato sauce
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1 cup chopped green pepper
  • sprinkle salt, oregano, and pepper over whole pizza
  • 8 oz (1/2 Lb) bag of shredded mozzerella cheese
  • 1 Lb ground beef

Directions

  • Mix dough ingredients with a big spoon then by hand. Put a little water at the end to moisten. Let dough rise for 1/2 hour.

  • Roll out dough, pinch ends up. Put 2 Tbsp oil on (1 on each side of dough).

  • Put sauce, salt, pepper and oregano on dough, followed by onions, green peppers, tomatoes, ground beef and cheese.

  • Bake at 425 for about 20 minutes or until it looks cooked (check the bottom)

    Strawberry Stuffed French Toast

    Strawberry stuffed french toast

    This Strawberry Stuffed French Toast recipe tricked me into thinking I was out to brunch, instead of in my living room.  It was that good.  And it was so easy to make.  Except for the whole cut a slit into the bread part; my hubby helped with that. It probably isn’t that complicated for normal people.  But, me, I am bad with knives.  So instead of ruining the one challah loaf I had, I let Drew help.  We made a good team.

    Raspberry Rhapsody French Toast

    Raspberry Rhapsody French Toast

     Now this french toast was actually from a brunch restaurant in my ‘hood.  No pretending here.  Overeasy is in Ravenswood at Damen and Ainslie.  It gets really busy on the weekends, so I have only gone during the week on my days off.  If you have to wait, though, it is worth it.  This masterpiece was on the weekly specials menu, but pretty much their whole menu is delicious.  Here is the description of this french toast from the menu:
     “brioche french toast layered with vanilla bean cream & fresh raspberries, topped with bittersweet chocolate ganache & served with house-made raspberry syrup, powdered & whipped cream”.  There was no hesitation on my part that I would be ordering this, despite how much I also love the sassy eggs and the banana spiked french toast.

    Light ‘n Easy Cincinatti Chili
    I don’t have a picture of this since I forgot to take one before I started to chow down.  It smelled so good I couldn’t wait.  I will tell you, it was much better than this:

    Skyline Chili

     Skyline Chili is a popular place for Cincinatti Chili.  I am not sure why, since it made me want to vomit.  Really.  I am only smiling in this picture because it was taken, BEFORE I ate the 4 way chili.  However, Courtney’s version was indeed amazing.  You can find it on her site, which is a favorite of mine.
    Well, it’s time to hop onto pinterest to find out what to make this week and get to Mariano’s (my favorite grocery store by far) to stock up for the week.  Hopefully I will get to write about the completed nursery soon!
    ~Jess

About eatsawonderfullife

Chicago.Education.Dessert.Chicago Sports (minus the Sox).Books. Yoga.Running.Vacationing.Countrymusic.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 281 other followers

