RSS Feed

This week in food

I am pretty excited that I had a healthy week!  Here is (most) of what I ate this week.  I did sneak in some pretzel m&m’s and  beer at a concert, but no need to showcase those.

My chili in a bowl over brown rice with a dollop of non-fat sour cream

Crock Pot Chicken taco chili

 

 

 

 

 

pretzels and Hersey's hugs

 

 

 

 

Sirloin burger with left over rice (avocado, tomatoes, red onion) and corn

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leftover chicken taco chili in corn tortillas

 

 

 

I am so proud of the fact that I cooked at home every night and I made use of leftovers!  A couple of these recipes are recipes I found on pinterest.  The crock pot chicken taco chili was one of them.  I love crock pot recipes.  Throw everything in and 6-10 hours later everything is done!  I was also able to combine the leftovers with corn and avocado for tacos for a quick meal later in the week.

 

 

I’m sure my husband was excited that I cooked burgers this week; it’s a rare occurrence.  I barely ever cook red meat, although I have no probably scarfing it down when I am out to eat.  Let me tell you a little secret about my side dish of rice that I ate with it.  I use Trader Joe’s frozen brown rice; it microwaves in only three minutes!  I love mixing it with tomatoes and avocados.  Usually I heat up the tomatoes in olive oil, along with whatever veggies I am in the mood for, and add them to the rice after I cook it.  This time, the rice was leftover from a couple of nights before.  So, I just added some tomatoes and red onion to the rice and heated it up in the microwave for a few minutes.  The tomatoes gave the rice a nice little “sauce” and made it less dry.  Then I added my absolute favorite foods- avocados!

Although I really wanted to bake this week, I couldn’t find the time.  Instead, I popped the pretzels and hugs in the oven for a quick dessert.  Another pinterest find!  I am off to make some Hungry Girl Totally Nuts Creamy Chicken Salad, a favorite of my husbands.  And mine!

About eatsawonderfullife

Chicago.Education.Dessert.Chicago Sports (minus the Sox).Books. Yoga.Running.Vacationing.Countrymusic.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 281 other followers

